I miss my iPod

A few days ago my 60GB black video iPod bailed on me with the “sad ipod” icon.   It’s only 6 months old (it’s my 3rd iPod since 03) Its heading back to Apple.
I can’t believe how much I miss it.  Actually – what I miss is the control.  I miss the control I had over my entertainment.

But I also miss the opportunity it gives mes to sample and try new entertainment.

I’m pretty indiscriminate about what I put on my ipod – anything, everything!

Artists people say I should check out – swoosh – the whole CD is there.

Podcasts, videoblogs, videopodcast, tv shows.  Bam – I don’t really worry about it.  If it interests me – it’s on the pod.  I can always delete it.

3 years ago I thought it might be nice to have an ipod, but it wasn’t something I felt I needed.

Today I can’t imagine not having it.  I truly feel like I’m MISSING OUT.  That I’m OUT OF TOUCH.  I consume WAAAY more entertainment now than I did 3 years ago.  Music, podcasts, videos, audio-books.

Being able to sample and carry around so much entertainment – and USING it to explore and discover new things, when it suits ME has convinced me unequivocally that radio SOMEHOW – SOMEWAY needs to get the rights thing settled and start making it’s shows available for the portable medium.

Not clips from shows.  Not stray bits here and there – entire shows.

What I get with the ipod is TRUE portable entertainment and the “dominant portable entertainment medium” (of the last century anyway) is largely sitting out.
Our industry really needs to be making this a huge priority.  It’s WAAAY bigger than HD Radio.
Way bigger.

Is anyone in radio even working on this?

Maybe this is what the NAB could be doing instead of trying to get petty shackles placed on satcasters.

3 Responses to I miss my iPod

  1. Dick Hungate says:

    If you look at an older Jacobs Media blog concerning this same issue of
    (thus far) non-portability…your concerns will only be reinforced by what he
    and I wrote. It worries TONS of people (Uhhh, that would be YOU, ME, and
    FRED….my lame, sarcastic little joke here!…. since every day some truly evocative
    and timely and perfectly-penned blog entries occur (I love Lee Abram’s blog, too)
    and ALMOST NOBODY APPEARS TO GIVE A SHIT ! Maybe that’s being too
    cynical. Perhaps our industry peers actually DO read-and-heed. But I don’t
    think so. My instincts (I’m not vert smart in that “native intelligence” way, but
    the famous California Psychological Inventory 600-question personality test
    ranked me at 100% with intuition…the highest score they had ever recorded).
    My instincts tell me that unless you’re Andrew Sullivan or some r-e-a-l blog
    superstar…pretty much the same daily handful of readers takes tiime to process
    the wonderful, insightful, completely mind-opening postings on…especially…your
    site and Fred’s. What a friggin’ CRYING SHAME !! For what it’s worth, Dick
    Hungate respects all the time effort you guys spend on these. And in a sort
    of oblique, once-removed sidebar, notice that nobody responds to what arguably
    could be labelled some pretty damned INFLAMATORY entries by yours truly, either.
    For example, I recently took on the industry’s worst-kept secret…that Cox honcho
    Bob Neill can’t seem to butt out of daily programming decisions…that he micro-
    manages (will no malintent, admittedly…it’s just his anal nature) EVERYthing from
    the Atlanta headquarters or wherever he is at the moment. Not even THAT was
    enough “bait” to elicit a simple three-line, “Hey dude…lay off my man Neill…he
    rocks! Cox Radio is the BEST and you’re just a sour-grapes moron because you
    were down-sized a year ago!”. It seems that the only readers who do this right
    here…leave a reply, which I try so hard to do sparingly so as not to wear out my
    welcome…are Fred, Greg Gillespie, Gary Guthrie, me, you…..I might be missing
    two or three more. But WHAT’s UP WITH THAT @!? Don’t people give a hoot?
    Can’t they tear themselves away from stupid Elliot on “American Idol” long enough
    to type-out some reactions to your posts…be they pro or con? I just don’t get it.
    I HOPE the real problem isn’t rampant, pervasive apathy across our industry.
    If (I say IF) there can be drawn any correlation between blog replies and the passion
    level / overall level of “emotional investment” in our industry…we’re in deep doo doo.
    Because friends at XM and Sirius GUSH to me about passion flooding their hallways!
    Blog operators seem to have a lonely, thankless job. But YOU ARE APPRECIATED
    by this reader / contributor…..and so are Jacobs and Abrams for their great blogs.
    So hang in there with the thought-proking entries and just know that a small but
    super-appreciative readership definitely gets-off on the fact that you CARE !!

  2. Jeff says:

    Hey Dick thanks!

    I have no illusions or expectations here. I’m just adding my .02 about issues I think deserve attention and discussion. Glad you’re enjoying it.

    Go ahead and tell anyone you think might enjoy the conversation to swing by.

    ,-)

    –jeff

  3. […] Meanwhile other people are designing the disruptive technologies that will affect radio’s future. I’ve been without my ipod for a few day now.  Among the issues I  discussed here regarding it’s effect on my media consumption – there’s another impact.  […]

Leave a Reply

